Tag: Aline Smithson

Deadline March 31st: Film Photo Award

Call for Entries: Film Photo Award
Deadline: Sunday, March 31, 2019
Fees: $35 Non-Students / $25 Students

“The Film Photo Award offers two award cycles per year, each providing three distinct grants of Kodak Professional Film to photographers who demonstrate a serious commitment to the field and are motivated to continue the development of still, film-based photography in the 21st century.

The Film Photo Award is open to all emerging, established, and student photographers worldwide, 18 years old or older.

During each spring and fall award cycle, 3 film grants will be awarded:

  • New Project Award: applicants will select either 200 rolls of 35mm, 200 rolls of 120, or 300 sheets of 4×5 Kodak Professional film.
  • Continuing Project Award: applicants will select either 200 rolls of 35mm, 200 rolls of 120, or 300 sheets of 4×5 Kodak Professional film.
  • Student Project Award: applicants will select either 100 rolls of 35mm, 100 rolls of 120, or 150 sheets of 4×5 Kodak Professional film.

Aline Smithson
, Photographer and Editor-and-Chief of the daily web journal, Lenscratch.

Anyone 18 years old or older, worldwide.

Students must be currently enrolled in an institution of higher education at the time of submission. Undergraduate and graduate students are eligible. You do not need to be studying photography specifically.

Detailed explanation of application materials here.

  1. Project Proposal
  2. CV, Resume, or Bio
  3. 10 Examples of Past Work
  4. Inventory List
  5. Submission Fee

Evaluation Criteria
Applicants will be considered on the basis of artistic excellence and the promise of future achievement. Submissions include 10 examples of past work, a proposal for a new or continuing film-based project, CV or Bio, & Inventory List.”

To see the full prospectus and to apply visit: www.filmphotoaward.com.

Deadline February 12th: Open to Interpretation Call for Entries “Love/Lust”

Open To Interpretation: A Juried Book Competition of Photography, Poetry and Prose
Call for Entries: Love/Lust
Deadline: Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Lust is an intense appetite, craving, or untamed desire. We lust for an array of things—money, power, objects, sex, or just living life. Love is a powerful affection or personal attachment and comes in a variety of forms, which can encompass romantic, sexual, platonic, narcissistic, or even religious feelings or attitudes. Show us your interpretations. Who or what do you love or lust for? What images capture these emotions for you?

Aline Smithson, Photographer and Creator/Editor of LENSCRATCH

Publication and Awards
$1000 Cover Award
$500 Judge’s Choice Award Photography
$500 Judge’s Choice Award Writing or Poetry

Being selected to be part of this publication puts you in great company with other photographers, writers, and poets. This publication is dedicated to providing a place for artists to gain recognition and exposure for their work. All participants chosen, if so desired, will have their name, web page and/or mailing address indexed in the book so as they can be contacted directly regarding their work.”

Click here for the submission guidelines and to submit your photographs.
Click here for the poetry and prose guidelines.

June 6th, Boston: 7th Annual Focus Awards

The Griffin Museum of Photography
7th Annual Focus Awards
Wednesday, June 6, 2012 at 7:00 pm
Tickets: $95

“The Focus Awards recognize individuals making critical contributions to the promotion, curation and presentation of photography.

The awards this year celebrate five people and organizations instrumental in building greater awareness of the photographic arts in the general public.

The Focus Awards have been presented in the following categories:

  •  The Lifetime Achievement Award – Eelco Wolf
    Given to an individual whose ongoing commitment to photography has created far reaching impact.
  • The Rising Star Award – Aline Smithson
    Given to an emerging force that the photographic community is watching with great enthusiasm.
  • The New England Beacon Award – Stephen Jareckie
    Given to a local individual whose work brings prominence to the local photographic scene.
  • The Spotlight Award – Rixon Reed
    Given to an entity that consistently shines a light on photography and has created a far reaching impact in the field.
  • The Quicksilver Award – Keith Jenkins
    Given to an individual who has made significant advances in using and exploring new technologies, as well as innovative approaches to photography utilizing nontraditional ways to showcase photography as an ever changing media.

The Focus Awards kicks off the Flash Forward Festival.”

Fairmont Battery Wharf
377 Commercial Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02109

April 8th, Atlanta: Opening Reception for “Still Life” with Julie Blackmon, Michael Marshall, Alline Smithson and Maggie Taylor

Jennifer Schwartz Gallery [map]
Opening Reception: Friday, April 8th, 2011, 7 pm

Exhibition will be up from April 8th to May 28th, 2011

An exhibition exploring the connection between photography and painting in the digital age.  Features the work of Julie Blackmon, Michael Marshall, Aline Smithson, and Maggie Taylor.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers