Deadline November 1st: 2012 SPE Student Scholarships

Society for Photographic Education
2012 Student Scholarship Opportunities

Deadline: Tuesday, November 1, 2011 at 11:59 pm EST

Fee: $10

“SPE student members can apply for scholarships to offset the cost of attending SPE’s 2012 SPE National Conference in San Francisco March 22-25, 2012. All awards include a 2012 national conference fee waiver and a one-year membership to SPE.

SPE Awards
Ten SPE Awards are offered and feature a $500 travel stipend to attend the national conference.

The SPE Award for Innovations in Imaging in Honor of Jeannie Pearce
The SPE Award for Innovations in Imaging, in honor of Jeannie Pearce is open to all eligible students working primarily with digital technology and is designated for work only possible because of emerging digital technologies-no alternative processes or gelatin silver prints. A project description describing how the work is possible as a result of emerging digital technologies is required as part of the submission process. Jurors will seek to award work that demonstrates the most innovative, unique, and freshest uses of digital technologies.

The Freestyle Crystal Apple Award for Outstanding Achievement in Black and White Photography
The Freestyle Crystal Apple Award for Outstanding Achievement in Black and White Photography is generously sponsored by Freestyle Photographic Supplies. Freestyle’s goal in offering this award is to provide greater support for students working in traditional black and white silver imaging and alternative processes. One student will be awarded a $5,000 cash prize. All light-sensitive processes, including alternative processes (Van Dyke brown, platinum, albumen, gum bichromate, cyanotype, kallitype, salt, liquid emulsion, lith printing, hand coloring, bromoil, modern day tintype, etc.) are eligible for this award as long as the end product is a gelatin silver or handmade alternative process print. No digital prints accepted.

This year’s jurors are SPE national board members serving on the Awards and Recognition Committee: Christina Z. Anderson (chair), Sama Alshaibi, and Liz Wells.”

For submission guidelines please visit SPE’s website.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers