Deadline Extended to July 7th: En Foco New Works Competition #17

En Foco
Call for Entries: New Works Competition #17
Deadline: Sunday, June 30, 2013, 1:59 am EDT

Deadline Extended to: Sunday July 7, 2013 (10:59pm PST /11:59pm MST /12:59am CST/1:59am EST)

“En Foco’s New Works Photography Fellowship Awards is an annual program selecting several U.S. based photographers of Latino, African or Asian heritage, and Native Peoples of the Americas and Pacific, through a free, national call for entries.

New Works helps artists to create or complete an in-depth photographic series exploring themes of their choice, and provides the infrastructure needed for national visibility and a professional exhibition of their new work in the New York area. The goal is to identify and promote talented emerging and mid-career artists, creating a cross-cultural dialogue and providing artists with exposure and growth opportunities.

Work can be in any photo-based style or genre (documentary, autobiographical, landscape, abstract, digital, pinhole, etc), or photo-based medium (installation, mixed media, alternative processes, etc).

Juror: Mary Virginia Swanson, Marketing Consultant/Trusted Advisor to Artists, Author and Educator, mvswanson.com

Requirements

  1. Your work should address issues that are relevant to your personal experience. Photographic imagery should contain a cultural consciousness that is grounded in identity and the search for a personal statement. This is completely open to your interpretation. Visit www.enfoco.org to view works by prior winners.
  2. You may propose a new project idea, or propose to continue an existing body of work. Decisions will be based upon quality of images submitted.
  3. If selected, your new work must consist of 15-20 exhibition-quality images. The group exhibition will be curated by En Foco’s staff in 2014, at which time the honorarium is paid.
  4.  Although not required, applicants are encouraged to become En Foco members. Basic membership includes a subscription to Nueva Luz photographic journal, a 1/2 hour in-house Portfolio Review, free admission at photo museums, discounts to En Foco’s portfolio review sessions, and invitations to all En Foco events. Additional membership levels include more extensive benefits and substantial discounts.

Submission Guidelines

  1. Register at CallforEntry.org, and follow the directions for sizing and uploading your images.
  2. A written project proposal/description (no more than 500 words). Describe specific aspects of your work such as subject matter, context, content, location, and personal relevance.
  3. A one-page biography and/or resume.
  4. A statement about your work as an artist.
  5. Fifteen tightly edited images from the same series. CaFÉ image preparation tips can be found at: https://www.callforentry.org/image_prep.phtml

For the full prospectus and to submit visit: www.callforentry.org/festivals_unique_info.php?ID=1316&sortby=fair_name&apply=yes.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox

Join other followers